General AtomRC Dolphin help!

jacksrevlimiter

Hey guys, I'm new here. I've just bought my first electric plane, and I'm very new to this. I was hoping I could get a little help learning about and figuring out what parts I need to finish this plane out.

It's an AtomRC Dolphin. I'm looking at this DYS SunFun 2306 1900KV motor, and a 4S Lipo battery. How do I determine the amp rating of the ESC without having a wattage rating of the motor? And does anyone have any better suggestions on parts? I'm absolutely a noob to this, and I really want to learn how these things are determined, so I can build other things in the future.

I've watched a video on youtube (that led me here) on how to to determine some of this information, but I'm not sure how to put all this information together.

Thanks!

RandyDSok

That isn't a trainer plane and is not one I'd recommend learning on. That would be for an experienced pilot.

I'd look at a trainer that has a high wing and supports a 4 channel radio in something like a 48" to 52" wingspan or close to that. Larger craft move a little slower and are less affected by wind than a smaller one. The wing should have some dihedral in it, that's a slight V shape and not completely flat. Having a little dihedral helps the plane try to right itself some helping to keep the wings more level.