380/420 Gaui X3 crash investigation

DeMuu

Hi all,

I'm a seasoned fixed-wing pilot but heli newbie. I am comfortable with keeping it stable and flying around. I've also been starting to do some basic on-the-spot flips to get used to negative pitch control. I bought the heli used (specs below) and all went fine for a few flights. Now suddenly today while doing a flip (about 30m away from me and at 15m height) the motor seemingly just stopped when it was inverted. I managed to get it upside down again but it came down really hard and the blades + landing gear are broken and the tail boom is possibly bent a bit.

Specs Gaui X3 (belt version):
- Align Dominator motor
- HobbyKing Platinum 50A ESC
- MSH Brain (the old version) -> I'm running a Spektrum DX8G2 and just plugged a Spektrum satellite into the FBL

The battery was brand new and only 1 flight old and the cells are good.

My question now is: What could be the reason for a sudden motor shut down? It was the first flight of the day and I've flown two, three times in a row before so temperature should not have been an issue. It was also around 12°C air temp when it happened. Could it be that the MSH Brain is faulty and somehow turned off the motor?

Additionally - I'm not sure if this is relevant or an issue at all, since I'm new to heli flight dynamics - the heli had some wobbly moments on previous flights while doing warm-up circuit flying. I assumed it was the wind since it was a bit gusty but now that it crashed I'm not sure if the FBL could've been the culprit and it was a warning sign I did not see due to lacking the experience.

I'm now unsure how to proceed cause if any of the electronic parts are faulty I don't want to throw money at the model and fix the parts with a high risk of crashes or other danger possibly happening again.

Has anyone experienced something like this before or knows a way to troubleshoot?