General Greetings Fellow Rc Fans

Sky Pilot Steve

Hello all: I'm new to the hobby and would like to find a place to get answers to my questions, I'll try to be short and to the point. I've recently acquired a DX6i from ebay, my first question is: Can I easily reset the unit to a factory default setting? If I have purchased a outdated "dinosaur" which transmitter would you folks recommend for a new trainer flyer? Thanks for your time.

Steve

Admiral

Hi Steve, Welcome to the forum.

Well yes you have purchased a very old transmitter, but don't loose heart, it is not a bad place to start there are still thousands of them being used every day especially the later DSMX version.

I would suggest that you keep it while you learn to fly and learn what is happening in the RC world, after you learn to fly you will want to have something better but it may not be Sprktrum, not that there is anything wrong with Spektrum I started with a DX6i then moved to a DX8 now using a DX9 (Gen1) but there are heaps of great Transmitters out there and you may find something you like better.

The reason I went away from the DX6i was mine was DSM2, no Back-lit screen and the use of dry cell batteries but it got me off to a good start.

RandyDSok

Hi Steve...

I'd suggest that you start with getting a copy of the manual if you haven't already... see this page for that DX6i 6CH DSMX Radio System with AR610 Receiver (SPM6630): Spektrum - The Leader in Spread Spectrum Technology

As it was already mentioned... it's as good of a place to start as any until you have developed your own preferences or requirements. I've never been a big Spektrum fan either but there are a ton of different bind n fly as well as plug and play RC things out there that are compatible making it pretty compelling.

Sky Pilot Steve