Other Have any other RC flyers come down with Leukemia?

TimberGuy

I did and it has been a non-stop nightmare for 12 months. Mine was B-cell acute lymphocyte leukemia (ALL) of the Philadelphia like type. As Philadelphia like makes it a near fatal diagnosis, I had a stem cell transplant after my bone marrow had undetectable disease remaining (5 months of intense chemotherapy). I will not be flying for awhile as I am still on immune suppressants (60 – 100 times more susceptible to skin cancer). As the blood organ is likely the 2nd largest (right behind skin), I am a hybrid of 2 people, and my newborn immune system can and will attack my body (hopefully minimally).

So here comes my speculative connection between leukemia and RC air transmitters. I will never know absolutely what caused my cancer, but I have done a lot of research.

Timing: I am self-taught over the past few years. All I need to do is step out my door to fly as we live in a 20-acre restored prairie. The summer of 2021 was my summer of the most flying. I was diagnosed with cancer the 1st week of October.

I have a TriField Model TF2 EMF meter, but refused to believe the RF emissions of my radio were strong enough to matter. After all it is near 2.4 GHz, just like my cell phone, but also nearly the same frequency as microwaves. I was in total denial of any risk to RF. But the emissions are much more then a cell phone, remember that!

How I used my simulator to learn to fly – big mistake! For the most realism I chose to use my actual radio with an RF receiver dongle plugged into my laptop. Both laid on my lap as I sat on the couch. Remember that!

How I chose to actually fly with the radio. I was lazy and let my arms fall with the radio right in front of my lap while standing. More anatomically correct would be to say the radio was always in front of my Pelvic bones. Remember that!