Hello From Peninsula, Ohio

Mikecup

I’m kinda brand new to RC planes, I just purchased the Spektrum DX8 gen 2 with the AR8010T receiver, I have a few planes that I purchased a few years ago, but never flew any of them, the HK J3 cub and the HK Yak 54. I also just purchased the mini apprentice RTF version. I will have many questions I’m sure, especially about my new radio. I’m an older guy, just turned 60.

D.O.G.

Goblin 380 Supporter
Hello Mike and welcome. There's a great amount of good people here when it comes to help. Don't be afraid to post up any questions, silly or dumb... there's no such thing. As for age, it's just a number. As long as you are having fun in the RC world, that's all it counts. :welcome1:

Admiral

Welcome to the forum Mike, if you haven't flow before I would suggest you get a RC Flight SIM first and get a few hours stick time before trying the real thing, it works wonders.

The other alternative is a club with an instructor or a buddy who can help you get it in the air and down again, but the SIM is best.

Mikecup

I have been using an rc sim for my iPad for awhile. Not sure if it’s ok to ask on this newcomer thread but is it necessary to join AMA and also do I have to register with the FAA?

Last edited:

Tony

Staff member
Hey Mike, welcome to the forum.

You do not have to register with the AMA. I stopped my membership a few years ago when they raised the prices, and I have been hearing about them declining to pay for damages caused by flight failures so I have no plans on rejoining them any time soon. As for the FAA, if your aircraft is over 250 grams, you are supposed to register. I will leave that as is lol.

Mikecup