Prop Help with Flying Wings

Griffin Neal

I'm new to flying wings and recently built a plank flying wing from foam board. I haven't had a maiden flight with it yet because I am nervous about whether I made it correctly, if it is too heavy, etc. Does anyone know of any methods of assessing it pre-maiden, whether it is calculators or other means? Thanks!

Here is some info about it:

All-up Weight:
- 350 grams

Motor:
- 2200 Kv
- 342 watt

Prop:
- 6 in (Diameter)
- 4 in (Pitch)

ESC:
- 30A

Battery:
- 3S (12.6V)
- 850 mAh
- 45C

Wingspan:
- 750 mm (Width)
- 250 mm (Depth)

Wing Area:
- 187.5 dm

RandyDSok

All of the webpages I had that provided the various calculators to aid in RC airplane design like wing loading an others have since gone away and are no longer available. I suspect some google fu ( web searching ) may provide others that are suitable for that. So I'll just address this generically and then give an opinion... well, much of this is opinion until tested... but a lot will be based on comparisons to other flying wing aircraft.

Your AUW is high for a flying wing of this size. The motor, despite not providing all of the motor specs one would really need... is much larger than what I see on similar sized aircraft. So the power to weight is probably way overkill... but the wing loading appears is too high ( too heavy ) for the size of the wings. How much the oversized motor will affect the flight performance will be determined by where the CG is on the wing in relation to where the motor is mounted.

Here is a typical flying wing plans and recommended equipment well suited for beginner builders ( notice I didn't say beginning flyer )... see Flying Wing RC plane foam free plans for beginners