Spektrum I'm lost - Trying to program my DX8

Topgun

I'm new to this game and have a Spektrum DX8 and soon to be Blade mSR heli. Found a YouTube video from a guy on how to program the DX8 & mSR for small room indoor flying. I can't make sense of the information this individual posted below. Can someone guide me through it because I don't know crap and just trying to learn?

It has always been difficult to fly the mSR indoors, in tight spaces. The MLP4DSM transmitter, that comes with the mSR, has a dual-rate, but the standard mode is too sensitive for tight maneuvers. For the Spektrum DX8, I setup a helicopter model with a single servo swashplate. I created an exponential throttle curve that is slightly flat near 47%. I set F Mode 0 dual-rates at: Aileron D/R 70 Expo 20, Elevator D/R 80-reverse 60-forward Expo 20, and Rudder D/R 90 Expo 20. I created an optional MIX1 (gear switch) for Aileron--Rudder, at 55%, -65%. The MIX really helps with banking in small rooms.

Thanks to all who reply!

Tony

Staff member
Hey TG, first and foremost, welcome to the forum! It's great to have you here.

I was just about to make a video on setting up the mSR with the DX8. It's very simple once you do it a few times. Give me a little time and I will make a quick video on flying the mSR and I will put 3 different DR/Expo's in there as well.

As for what they said about the throttle curve, LEAVE IT LINEAR! The only time you should play with that is with a collective pitch heli. The more throttle you give a FP heli, the higher it will go. Lower the throttle and it will go down.

To adjust the dual rate and expo's, you will go into the dual rate and expo menu (second or third one down if I remember, dont' have it here with me). In there, the first number (I think) is the dual rates. scroll down and select your control that you want to adjust. For this example, we are going to talk about the Ailerons.