Is it worth to buy a real Tx for Phoenix simulator?

varadero129

Hi all,

I am an absolute beginner in this hobby, now I'm reading a lot about it on your site (thanks a million for the many useful pieces of information) and I'm learning on Phoenix RC4 with a fake transmitter that I ordered from China. The exact model type is 6CH XTR RC Flight Simulator 6 CH JTL-0904A if it matters.

Now I'm thinking of buying a high quality Tx like Hitec's Aurora 9, that I could use for the real helis as well. But in the beginning I'm looking forward to use it in Phoenix.

I heard that it's not worth using a real Tx in the simulators, because they can be worn out by the course of the time.

I want to ask your opinion about this theory.

Also I have a question about the "fail-safe" settings in the simulator. A friend of mine mentioned that it's not worth learning the basics in the beginners settings, because I can easily be accustomed to those settings, and later when I setup the full range collective degrees etc. setup, I would have to learn the whole thing from the beginning.

What do you think about this?

Regards,
Tamas

Tony

Staff member
Using the Tx that you are going to fly with is a good idea. Not only because it will have a better resolution than that cheap Tx, but also because you will be holding and getting used to the Tx that you will be flying with.

I don't know anything about the 9, but have heard it's a pretty good Tx. I love my DX8 as do many on here. The DX7s is another great Tx. The DX6i is a great beginner tx.

IMO, it's worth it to use your actual Tx.

And you should learn all the basics as you go. that way they are set in you head and you do them automatically when you setup a new bird. It's the little things that will bite you in this hobby.

varadero129