General need help with trex 450

taaron777

:)Minutes Ago

Hi. I'm new to the hobby and came here for help. I currently fly 4ch fp heli's. I just bought my first cp which happens to be a trex 450 v2. I got it from a friend who removed the direct drive from the tail and added a brushless tail motor and esc. I will be using a devo 7 and a walkera master cp six axis gyro receiver combo. Will this work or should I reassemble the tail back to original? Thanks for your input, because I'm clueless.

Tony

Staff member
I highly suggest that you put the tail back together completely stock. If you want to use a belt tail, you can get one from hobbyking, but it's a clone POS, but is still better than a motor driven tail.

My suggestion is to get the black TT gears as they are much stronger than the white ones.

Let us know if you need a parts list. We will also need to know what you have now. Make sure to post some pictures of your birds so we can see them.

taaron777

Thanks Tony. Right now it has a 5 blade head. 4 blade tail rotor and brushless tail motor with esc. He was hovering it but not much more than that. I gave a hundred bucks for it. He kept his rx and flybarless system. I'm on a budget so that's why I'm going to try the master cp's six axis gyro combo with the devo 7. That tail just had me sceptical, but he had it hovering. How do I post the pics?

Tony

Staff member
If you click on teh link below, the very top video shows how to post pictures.

Did he happen to give you the old head? I highly suggest the 2 blade head. Be it the V2 head or the DFC head. It's much less stress on the system.

RC-Help.com - Rc-Help How-To

Tony

Staff member
I thought you had the Pro V2. That is the SE V2. I have that same helicopter sitting here that I really need to work on. And are you sure that's an Align, or is that the HK450GT?

taaron777