Cars T-maxx 3.3 Diy Electric Conversion. Burnt Esc

Simon Sørensen

Hi Peeps!

I am currently converting my old T-maxx 3.3 to electric. Today I got it running but burnt my ESC after 10 minutes. I wonder why. Maybe someone here can shed some light on it since i am a newb in RC building...

I am running a 3900KV 4pole motor with a 60A ESC (Now deciesed.)
I had a Spankin new 3S lipo 6000mAh 65C batteri for power.

When i got the power disconnected i noticed one of the motor wires was disconnected from the ESC. -I think the curcuitboard got so hot the soldering melted and let go of the wire, but the motor was only luke warm, so that doesnt make any sence...

Could it have been a bad soldering that just broke off? And would disconnecting one motorwire make the ESC shortcurcuit?

I have been reading the manuals for the motor and ESC. It seems the motor is rated as max 69A the ESC at 60A/320A burst.
The motor is not that big compared to ex the T-Maxx stock engine and it only has a 3,17 axle. So I guess it will be pulling some current to push the weight. but it ran like shot out of a canon until it burned the ESC...
Could I have overloaded the 60 amp ESC with the 69A motor? -But again, the motor didnt seem hot?

anyway Ill stop rambling. I plan on buying a new 80A ESC for the motor, but also on buying a bigger 2050KV motor with a 120A ESC and put that in the car. As I said this is new turf to me, but as far as I have figured out I prolly need a bigger motor with more torque so I dont strain a smaller system too much...

RandyDSok

Typically when an ESC is burned out... it is from being over loaded with too high of an amp load. The only real way to know for certain is to put an amp meter inline in the circuit.

Most cheap ESC's that list their burst amperage... are way over exaggerated and the amp load they mention last for such a short period, it simply isn't a real number you can count on.